Google is going full steam ahead with its quality user experience and relevant search results agenda. In the keeping of this, the search engine now allows signed in users around the world to tell Google whether a site is useful or not.
So, if you block a site, then the data is stored in the periodic Panda updates to furnish better and high quality content. Recently, Google announced that in most Google searches and domains, the user will see a note below the URL which says something like- Block all xyz.com results?
This note comes after you hit the back button and return to Google’s search results.
Once you press the block button, the results are gone. You are informed about the same by Google. But what if you have by mistake blocked a good site? Then you can quickly undo it by clicking the Undo link. Simple! Not only this, you can also go through and manage the list of sites you have blocked from your dashboard. These are listed neatly and sorted by date, search query that led to the block and of course the option to undo the block.
Now, the question here that how will Google use the data they get from the lists of block sites. On the question whether non U.S. blocked sites will become a ranking signal, the company has said that it will experiment with this in the near future. Post the panda, the Chrome Personal Blocklist extension has been used as a ranking signal.