The Google Webmaster Central blog has announced a new feature for the Message Center. The release concerns a new "messages waiting" feature. Earlier, the message center could only store penalty notifications for the webmasters who had already verified their sites. But now with the new feature it can keep these messages waiting for future owners. So now a new user just have to create a new Webmaster Tools account and verify the site. And this would give the user access to any message from Google concerning violations of Webmaster Guidelines. Further,
now the user even can retrieve one year old messages with this new feature.
This certainly would have raised some questions in your mind:
Q: What happens to old messages when a site changes ownership?
A: In the case of a change of ownership, new verified owners will be able to retrieve a message as noted above.
Q: If a site has more than one verified owner and one of them deletes a message, will it be deleted for all the other site owners as well?
A: No, each owner gets his or her own copy of the message while retrieving the message. Deleting one does not affect any past,
current, or future message retrievals.
This new release has been much appreciated by many. Commenting on the new feature, this was what Jennifer, a webmaster said on the Central blog, "glad that you are offering this option. I am a firm believer in using white hat techniques that help make your website search engine compliant, and hope that this helps site owners that are unaware that they are using bad techniques from making mistakes."
Also, for a better perspective on Webmaster Tools read -Understanding Google WebmasterTools.